If someone gets hurt while performing work-related tasks, they may have access to benefits through workers’ compensation insurance from their employer that could help them recover from their injuries and reach maximum medical improvement. However, there are several rules applicable to workers’ compensation (also known as workers comp) claims, and violating any of them could lead to a claim being denied.
If you want to improve your chances of a successful resolution to your claim, or if your case has been rejected, a Miramar workers’ compensation lawyer at Redondo Law can help. With a dedicated personal injury attorney’s assistance, you can enforce your rights and make sure you get the monetary damages you need.
What benefits can workers’ comp provide?
If an injured person’s employer and insurance provider accept a compensation claim, that employee should be eligible to receive all covered treatment for their damages. This care will be provided at no personal cost to the injured employee. People hurt may also be eligible for reimbursement for two-thirds of their missed wages if they are out of work longer than seven days, according to Florida Statutes § 440.13.
Injured workers can receive temporary disability payments for the first seven days if they are unable to work for longer than 21 days, up to a maximum of 104 weeks. Individuals with long-term losses in Miramar may be eligible for permanent disability benefits, which a workplace compensation attorney can further explain.
Reporting a Miramar workplace injury
According to Fla. Stat. § 440.185, covered workers have a maximum of 30 days to report their injury to their employer. Upon receiving a report, the employer has seven days to notify their insurance provider. The provider must then give information about available benefits, rights, and obligations for the injured worker within three days of receiving a claim.
Requirements for different types of businesses
Any company that has four or more employees within the state and does not perform construction or agricultural services must have workers’ compensation.
Construction companies must obtain workplace comp coverage if they have one or more employees including the company’s owner and limited liability company (LLC) members. Agricultural businesses only have to get workers’ comp insurance if they have six full-time employees, or if they have 12 seasonal employees working between 30 and 45 days a year in total.
If an employer fails to fulfill their reporting obligations, employees can report their work-related injuries to the insurance company directly. Alternatively, they can reach out to the Florida Employee Assistance Office or contact a Miramar workers’ insurance attorney to help enforce their rights.
Call a Miramar workers’ compensation attorney to help today
Unfortunately, workers’ compensation claims are complex endeavors for individuals who get hurt on the job. Even if you follow every rule and provide substantial medical documentation for your injuries, a minor procedural mistake can keep you from getting your much-needed benefits.
Representation from a Miramar workers’ compensation lawyer can give you much better odds of resolving your claim amicably and recovering the compensation you deserve. Call Redondo Law today to learn more during a free consultation.